Running together apart – Rotterdam Marathon training

It was a great idea to run our long run of the week together. 13 Bergse Runners (including 1 on a bike) gathered at Martien’s & Irme’s house in Hilversum to run 26 km together. We are training for a combination of the Rotterdam Marathon and the Slachte Marathon. I, of course, am training for both…

I pointed out that I would be the slowest as I was focused on a low heart rate – target c. 145. This was quickly solved as a couple of others were also planning to run between 9 – 10 km/ hour.

Of we set all together. I realised quickly that my HR was nearer 150 – 155 so tried to slow down. I fell in with the other two runners and the rest of the group progessed further and faster. They turned back to “pick us up” a number of times.

Running past cows near Hilversum - surrreal!

It was great to be out in the fresh air. Wind still and we were running through woods and on soft ground and across the “plains” of Hilversum where its sandy and heathery (Hilversum Heideheuvel).  We even ran past some “wild” Scottish type cows that roam freely on the downy area!

I dropped a little behind my two colleagues to try to bring my heart rate down. It worked now it was 148 – 152 – good!

I was belted up with Winrgy, Sure2Endure and ProXtreme. This turned out to be a very good thing! MY goal was to run for 2 hours 15 mins.

As we trotted through the wooded area the head group turned off left. My two friends ahead of me carried on. So, thinking that the faster runners were going to run a loop and catch us slower ones at the other end, I trotted after my friends. After a few meters – and a woodpecker that I actually saw! – my friends told me that they were going to run a shorter run (I must have missed something in the briefing!).

So I turned around – the woodpecker flew away – and jogged off after the main group – which I could no longer see. I turned right, where they had turned. I carried on. There was a fork in the road. Straight on appeared to be the main way and left looked as if we would have doubled back. So I chose straight on.

There was no way of seeing too far ahead and I looked left and behind  – also no sign. I carried on, lots of dog walkers, joggers, mountain bikers, even a pony and trap! No sign of my group!

Agh a group of runners! Could this be them? By now I was heading for the open heathery ground. Yes! No 😦 definately not my group. Oh well I would just have to enjoy the run.

I pulled my phone out of its holder and looked up a few numbers that I thought I had. I rang a few. Voice mail! I rang Eveline on the bike – she was cycling another route!! But advised me that they were heading for Lage Vuurche but not all the way. At some stage I would see a sign for Hilversum.

OK – so I may as well enjoy the run – which, apart from losing the group – was going rather well. I had pretty much everything anyway – phone, supplies and, if I really needed it, navigation.

I trotted over the soft heather. In the summer the entire are is purple. I could see the flowers starting to come through but they were looking rather black and almost a burnt colour.

I found the signs to Lage Vuursche – that reassured me that I was NOT lost just taking a different route 🙂

Indeed also a sign to Hilversum – 2 km. But I still had 40 mins to run so that was not far enough. Still let’s see where I came. I saw the Anthony Fokkerweg that, I remembered, was on the edge of Hilversum. I had just run past a rather interesting looking area called the Anna Hoeve it seemed to be part of the Gooi Natuur reserve. It worth investigating and I had the time. Indeed it was interesting and I found myself running under the A1. I could see the sign for turn off Hilversum North. Ummmm I think Martien & Irme’s house is in the south.

I turned round and headed back towards the Hilversum that I had seen before.

I had now been running for some 2 hours and 5 mins. OK so I would run longer than planned but I guessed that the others would be pushing towards 2 hr 30 min so I would be fine.

I found myself in Hilversum! But where on earth in Hilversum?

Waze to the rescue! And the link to the addres that my clever husband had shown me how to do. Yes found it now I was on the way. Oh, 3,9 km blast!

Oh well – I would get there…

I was now 1,5 km from destination.

Phone rang.

Evelien – and Irme to the rescue! Where was I?

I had just run past an address – Urechtseweg  – OK we are coming!

2 mins later I saw that I was in another road. A quick call back to rectify the error and within 10 mins I was in a lovely warm car. We shot back to the house with delicious apple pie and warm tea. Fantastic! What a great end to a great (GREAT BIG) run – I was actually 2 hr and 40 mins!!!

About lizboersmaynard

I have a passion to help people in achieving their personal and financial goals. I run an international marketing business where I train business partners to improve their physical, mental and financial health and enable them to achieve financial independence.
This entry was posted in Business, Economy, London Marathon, Marathon, Networking, Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running together apart – Rotterdam Marathon training

  1. Awesome !! you are providing really great information i like your post. Thanks for sharing with us..!!

Leave a Reply

